Featured News

Azam Rwanda Premier League | Match Day 29 Results

Jun 24, 2018 Comments 30, 088 views

Azam Rwanda Premier League|Match Day 29 Results Sunday, June 24, 2018 Etincelles FC 2-0 Kirehe FC AS Kigali 2-1 Amagaju FC APR Fc 2-0 Gicumbi FC Bugesera FC 2-0 Police FC Miroplast (...)

Keep reading

FERWAFA U-15 & U-17 Genocide Memorial Tournament Results

Jun 24, 2018 Comments 30, 088 views

FERWAFA U15 & U17 GMT Results U-15 Category Saturday, June 23 GS Kansi 1-0 ESC Nyanza APR U-17 3-2 Play for Hope Academy Sunday, June 24 Busasamana 1-8 College Inyemeramihigo ES (...)

Keep reading

FERWAFA U-15 & U-17 Kwibuka Tournaments due this weekend

Jun 22, 2018 Comments 30, 088 views

Rwanda Football Federation (FERWAFA) has organized U-15 and U-17 Genocide against the Tutsi Memorial Tournaments which begins on June 23 and ends on July 2, 2018. The U-15 Genocide against the (...)

Keep reading

CECAFA asks Rwanda to host Women’s Challenge Cup

Posted on Aug 23 2017

The Confederation of East and Central Africa Football Association (CECAFA) has requested Rwanda to host this year’s CECAFA Women Challenge Cup due in November.

The development was confirmed by Rwanda Football Federation (FERWAFA) President Vincent Nzamwita on Tuesday after a CECAFA board meeting held on Monday in Nairobi, Kenya.

The CECAFA board members requested Rwanda to host CECAFA Women’s Challenge scheduled for November; Burundi to host the CECAFA U17 next year while will the Men’s Senior Challenge Cup will be held by Kenya.

Speaking to Media on Tuesday, Nzamwita said, “We had a fruitful meeting with fellow Presidents from other regional football Associations. The meeting requested Rwanda to host the Women’s Challenge Cup,"

“We will take CECAFA’s request to our Ministry of Sports and Culture for consultations before a final decision is reached,” added Nzamwita.

In last year’s edition of the CECAFA Women’s Challenge Cup held in Uganda, Rwanda failed to go past the group stage, losing to Tanzania and Ethiopia respectively.

For two years now, CECAFA has failed to stage its two main annual competitions-the CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup and the Kagame Club Championship.

The 12 member states that form the CECAFA bloc include Burundi, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda and Zanzibar.

Meanwhile, the The long awaited CECAFA elective AGM will also take place this year.

The CECAFA Under-17 and Under-20 tournaments have not been played since 2009 and 2010, respectively.
Source: Ferwafa.rw

No comment yet.

Leave Your comment

Advertise with us
Follow us on Twitter
Follow us On facebook