Featured News

Mukura VS eye Super Cup glory

Sep 24, 2018 Comments 30, 088 views

After lifting the 2018 Peace Cup trophy last month, Mukura VS coach Francis Haringingo will be looking to add a second trophy in the cabinet when the Huye-based side takes on APR in the Super Cup (...)

Keep reading

Rayon Sports fall to Enyimba to crash out of CAF Confed Cup

Sep 24, 2018 Comments 30, 088 views

Rwandan side Rayon Sports Fc suffered a 1-5 loss to Nigerian side Enyimba FC as their continental dreams came to a disappointing climax on Sunday in Nigeria. The West Africans qualified 5-1 on (...)

Keep reading

ARPL: Play-off ties begin on Sept. 25, Miroplast Fc withdraws

Sep 21, 2018 Comments 30, 088 views

The Rwanda Football Federation (FERWAFA) has released fixtures of the play-off ties, whose winner will replace Intare Fc in the 2018/19 Azam Rwanda Premier League. The drawing of lots was held (...)

Keep reading

CECAFA Women Cup 2018: Rwanda face Tanzania in the Opener

Posted on Jul 03 2018

Rwanda will face reigning champions Tanzania in their opening game of the 2018 Cecafa Women Challenge Cup that will be kicked off on July 19 and end on July 27 in Kigali City.

The development comes following the release of the fixtures of the week-long tournament by the secretariat of the Confederation of East and Central Africa Football Association (CECAFA) on Tuesday in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania.

The CECAFA Women Challenge Cup 2018 will be contested by five nations, playing in a league format to determine the eventual champion.

The CECAFA General Secretary Nicholas Musonye confirmed the development on Tuesday in a press conference held at Azam Sports Complex in Chamazi.

Speaking on Tuesday in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania, Musonye who released the fixtures of the week-long tournament said, “Five countries have confirmed their intention and we will host the tournament in a league format and hosts Rwanda is ready to stage a successful tournament,” added Musonye.

The five confirmed nations for this year’s tournament include hosts Rwanda, Ethiopia, Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania.

According to the fixtures released, Rwanda opens her account against Tanzania on Thursday July 19 at 16:15pm at Stade de Kigali.

The Rwandan ladies will be back to action on Monday, July 23 when they host Ethiopia at 16:15, then face Uganda on Wednesday, July 25 before concluding their campaign on July 27 against Kenya.

The overall winner will be crowned champions of the 2018 CECAFA Women Challenge Cup.

Tanzania won the title after edging Kenya in the final while Ethiopia overcame hosts Uganda to take third place.

CECAFA Women Challenge Cup 2018
Thursday, July 19

Kenya vs Uganda (Stade de Kigali, 14h00)
Rwanda vs Tanzania (Stade de Kigali, 16:15)

Friday, July 20: Rest Day

Saturday, July 21
Ethiopia v Uganda (Stade de Kigali, 14h00)
Kenya v Tanzania (Stade de Kigali, 16:15)

Sunday, July 22: Rest Day

Monday, July 23
Uganda vs Tanzania (Stade de Kigali, 14h00)
Rwanda vs Ethiopia (Stade de Kigali, 16 :15)

Tuesday, July 24: Rest Day

Wednesday, July 25
Kenya vs Ethiopia (Stade de Kigali, 14h00)
Uganda vs Rwanda (Stade de Kigali, 16:15)

Thursday, July 26: Rest Day

Friday, July 27
Ethiopia vs Tanzania (Stade de Kigali, 14h00)
Rwanda vs Kenya (Stade de Kigali, 16:15)
Source : Ferwafa.rw

No comment yet.

Leave Your comment

Advertise with us
Follow us on Twitter
Follow us On facebook