Featured News

2020 CHAN Q: Upbeat Amavubi head to Ethiopia after win over DR Congo

Sep 19, 2019 Comments 30, 088 views

Rwanda’s Amavubi team head to Ethiopia today ahead of Sunday’s first leg of the final round of the 2020 Africa Nations Championship (CHAN) Central-East qualifiers. Coach Vincent Mashami’s side (...)

Keep reading

Rwanda, DR Congo square off in friendly match

Sep 18, 2019 Comments 30, 088 views

Rwanda take on DR Congo in a warm-up match today at the Stade de Martyrs in Kinshasa as both teams prepare for their respective 2020 Africa Nations Championship (CHAN) final round qualifiers. It (...)

Keep reading

Rwanda Premier League 2019/20 Season fixtures released

Sep 16, 2019 Comments 30, 088 views

Rwanda Football Federation (FERWAFA) has released the fixtures for the forthcoming 2019/20 Rwanda Premier League Season which is scheduled to start on October 4. The fixtures revealed only cater (...)

Keep reading

CECAFA Kagame Cup: APR FC thrash Heegan FC to topple Group C, Green Eagles eliminate Proline FC

Posted on Jul 11 2019

Three-time champions APR FC thrashed Heegan FC of Somalia 4-0 to extend their unbeaten run in the CECAFA Kagame Cup 2019 as Group C action came to a climax on Thursday at Stade de Kigali in Kigali City.

Earlier in the afternoon, Zambian guest side Green Eagles FC sent Ugandan side Proline FC packing as they registered their second victory of the tournament.

Proline FC needed at least a victory in the game against Zambian outfit Green Eagles to guarantee their chances of progressing to the knockout stage.

However, Shafik Bisaso’s side were condemned to a 2-1 loss at Stade Kigali hence their journey at the regional tournament coming to an end.

Kennedy Musonda scored a brace to guide Green Eagles to victory netting a goal in either half.

Hakim Kiwanuka pulled one back for Proline FC in the 51st minute but this at the end settled for a consolation goal as the 2018-19 FUFA Big League champions bowed out.

Proline FC had earlier suffered a 1-0 loss to APR in their opening game before they won 2-0 against Somali side Heegan FC.

In the second game, APR FC who had already sealed their last qualification fielded majority of their second-choice players against Heegan FC but that didn’t stop them from registering the biggest victory in the tournament so far.

Star striker Dany Usengimana scored the quickest brace of the tournament in the 1st and 3rd minutes of the game converting two set-pieces from new left back signing Claude Niyomugabo.

The former AS Kigali left-back Niyomugabo scored the third goal in the 15th minute after dribbling past three defenders to plant the ball into the ceiling of the goal net.

In the second half substitute striker Mugunga Yves came off the bench, replacing Usengimana to score the fourth goal in the 83rd minute after Heegan FC tried to dribble a backpacks only for Mugunga to beat him off before squeezed the ball into the empty net.

With the result, APR FC who have nine points and Green Eagles FC with six points advanced to the quarterfinals from Group C while Proline FC with three points and Heegan FC-pointless bowed out.

APR FC and Green Eagles FC will wait to know their quarter final round opponents after Group B action on Friday.

Tough Group B Battles
Group D comes to a climax on Friday at Stade Huye with intriguing matches which will see Kenyan side Bandari FC taking on reigning champions Azam FC at 15h30 while Ugandan league champions KCCA take on home side Mukura VS.

KCCA tops the group standings with four points secured from an opening draw against Bandari FC and a win over Azam FC in their second match.

Azam FC lie in second slot with three points while Bandari FC are in third spot with two points while Mukura VS lie bottom of the group with one point.

All the four teams will be seeking a win to remain in the tournament. Anything short of a win will send two teams home and grant two teams to the quarter final round.

The winner of the annual tournament stands to pocket $30,000 (Rwf. 27 million) in prize money while runners up will receive $20,000 (Rwf. 18 million) and $10,000 (Rwf. 9 million) respectively.

CECAFA Kagame Cup 2019
July 11, 2019

Proline FC 1-2 Green Eagles FC
APR FC 4-0 Heegan FC

July 12, 2019
Group B

Azam FC vs Bandari FC (Stade Huye, 15:30)
KCCA vs Mukura VS (Stade Huye, 18:00)

No comment yet.

Leave Your comment

Advertise with us
Follow us on Twitter
Follow us On facebook